

JOINT STATEMENT BY MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

on Russian aggression against Ukraine

Brussels, 22 February 2022 - "In the face of Russia's continued military provocations, the decision to recognise Ukraine's breakaway regions and to deploy so-called 'peacekeepers', we deplore Russia's actions and express our full support for Ukraine and the Ukrainian people.

We call for a strong and immediate response by the European Union and its Member States to the Putin regime, the imposition of additional sanctions and international condemnation, including personal sanctions against Putin and the members of the Russian National Security Council that personally supported the decision to recognize Ukraine's breakaway regions and to deploy so-called 'peacekeepers'. Russia should be suspended from organising and participating in international sporting events, including the 2022 UEFA Champions League final to be held in St Petersburg this spring.

Additional commitments must be made to help the Ukrainian authorities to defend Ukraine's sovereignty and to further Europeanise Ukraine, providing every opportunity for closer political association and economic integration with the EU.

Russia has become dangerous for Europe and the world. Its aggression must be stopped by all possible means, peace and respect for the rules-based international order must be promoted."

Petras Auštrevičius, Renew Europe, Lithuania Viola von Cramon-Taubadel, Greens/EFA, Germany Michael Gahler, EPP, Germany Dacian Ciolos, Renew Europe, Romania Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz, S&D, Poland Nathalie Loiseau, Renew Europe, France Sophie in' t Veld, Renew Europe, Netherlands Reinhard Bütikofer, Greens/EFA, Germany Dragoş Tudorache, Renew Europe, Romania Anna Fotyga, ECR, Poland Anna Júlia Donáth, Renew Europe, Hungary Morten Løkkegaard, Renew Europe, Denmark Robert Biedroń, S&D, Poland Karin Karlsbro, Renew Europe, Sweden Radka Maxová, S&D, Czechia Frédérique Ries, Renew Europe, Belgium Javier Nart, Renew Europe, Spain Miriam Lexmann, EPP, Slovakia Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Renew Europe, Germany Thijs Reuten, S&D, Netherlands Dragos Pîslaru, Renew Europe, Romania István Ujhelyi, S&D, Hungary Alin Mituta, Renew Europe, Romania Raphaël Glucksmann, S&D, France Liudas Mažylis, EPP, Lithuania Csaba Molnár, S&D, Hungary

Svenja Hahn, Renew Europe, Germany

Attila Ara-Kovács, S&D, Hungary

Sándor Rónai, S&D, Hungary

Lara Wolters, S&D, Netherlands

Billy Kelleher, Renew Europe, Ireland

Krzysztof Hetman, EPP, Poland

Vlad-Marius Botoş, Renew Europe, Romania

Peter van Dalen, EPP, Netherlands

Klára Dobrev, S&D, Hungary

Christophe Grudler, Renew Europe, France

Łukasz Kohut, S&D, Poland

Nicolae Ștefănuță, Renew Europe, Romania

Rasa Juknevičienė, EPP, Lithuania

Ivars Ijabs, Renew Europe, Latvia

Sara Skyttedal, EPP, Sweden

Bernard Guetta, Renew Europe, France

Tomasz Frankowski, EPP, Poland

Vlad Gheorghe, Renew Europe, Romania

Bronis Ropė, Greens/EFA, Lithuania

Michal Šimečka, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Andrius Kubilius, EPP, Lithuania

Catherine Chabaud, Renew Europe, France

Isabel Santos, S&D, Portugal

Danuta Maria Hübner, EPP, Poland

Martin Hojsík, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Eugen Tomac, EPP, Romania

Ramona-Victoria Strugariu, Renew Europe, Romania

Alexandr Vondra, ECR, Czechia

Sergey Lagodinsky, Greens/EFA, Germany

Marek Belka, S&D, Poland

Michal Wiezik, Renew Europe, Slovakia

Aušra Maldeikienė, EPP, Lithuania

Marie-Pierre Vedrenne, Renew Europe, France

Riho Terras, EPP, Estonia

Katalin Cseh, Renew Europe, Hungary

Juozas Olekas, S&D, Lithuania

Valérie Hayer, Renew Europe, France

Andrea Bocskor, NA, Hungary

Marian-Jean Marinescu, EPP, Romania

Agnes Jongerius, S&D, Netherlands

Michaela Šojdrová, EPP, Czechia

Andrus Ansip, Renew Europe, Estonia

Paul Tang, S&D, Netherlands

Marek Balt, S&D, Poland

Bas Eickhout, Greens/EFA, Netherlands

Peter Pollák, EPP, Slovakia

Andreas Schieder, S&D, Austria

Tineke Strik, Greens/EFA, Netherlands

Moritz Körner, Renew Europe, Germany

Mohammed Chahim, S&D, Netherlands

Jerzy Buzek, EPP, Poland

Vera Tax, S&D, Netherlands

Sven Mikser, S&D, Estonia

Kim van Sparrentak, Greens/EFA, Netherlands